LONGEVITY AND THE IAAF RACE WALKING WORLD TEAM CHAMPIONSHIPS

Although the Lugano Cup competition was first held in 1961, Australia did not compete in it until 1979, by which stage it had been renamed to the Racewalking World Cup. Still held bi-annually, it is now called the Race Walking World Team Championships. Australia has competed in every staging since 1979, 20 in total (1979, 1981, 1983, 1985, 1987, 1989, 1991, 1993, 1995, 1997, 1999, 2002, 2004, 2006, 2008, 2010, 2012, 2014, 2016 and 2018), and it has been a wonderful staging ground for our walkers in their push for international success.

Many Australian walkers compete in it but once but some come back year after year, amassing many international representations. Here they are, in order:

Australian Reps in IAAF Race Walking World Team Championships: 1979-2018 - Men

Victorian **Michael Harvey** leads the pack with a superb 10 team vests, every year from 1981 (when he was 19 years of age) to 1999 (when he was nearly 40). Behind him, **Jared Tallent, Duane Cousins** and **Luke Adams** sit on 7. These walkers all competed before the U20 10km walks were added. Nowadays, young walkers can tick off one or two extra vests due to the earlier start. Of the 'youngsters', **Rhydian Cowley** leads the pack with 6 vests.

10	Harvey, Mike	VIC	1981, 1983, 1985, 1987, 1989, 1991, 1993, 1995, 1997, 1999
7	Tallent, Jared	VIC/SA	2004, 2006, 2008, 2010, 2012, 2014, 2016
7	Cousins, Duane	VIC	1995, 1997, 1999, 2002, 2004, 2006, 2008
7	Adams, Luke	NSW	1999, 2002, 2004, 2006, 2008, 2010, 2012
6	Erickson, Chris	VIC	2004, 2006, 2008, 2010, 2012, 2014
6	Smith, David	VIC	1979, 1981, 1983, 1985, 1987, 1991
6	Rutter, Adam	NSW	2004, 2006, 2008, 2010, 2012, 2014
6	Cowley, Rhydian	VIC	2008, 2010, 2012, 2014, 2016, 2018
6	Baker, Simon	VIC	1983, 1985, 1987, 1989, 1991, 1993
5	Jachno, Andrew	VIC	1983, 1985, 1987, 1989, 1991
5	Bird-Smith, Dane	QLD	2010, 2012, 2014, 2016, 2018
5	A'Hern, Nick	NSW	1991, 1993, 1995, 1997, 1999
4	Dyer, Bill	VIC	1981, 1983, 1985, 1991
4	Donahoo, Mark	VIC	1987, 1989, 1993, 1995
4	Deakes, Nathan	VIC	1997, 1999, 2004, 2006
4	Copeland, Paul	VIC	1987, 1989, 1991, 1997
4	Brill, Craig	VIC	1987, 1989, 1991, 1993
4	Bown, Darren	SA	1999, 2002, 2004, 2006
3	Sawall, Willi	VIC	1979, 1981, 1985
3	Russell, Dion	VIC	1995, 1997, 1999
3	Reading, Brendon	ACT	2008, 2016, 2018
3	Rayson, Ian	NSW	2006, 2010, 2013
3	McGrath, Dominic	VIC	1995, 19976, 1999
3	Brill, Nathan	VIC	2012, 2014, 2016
2	Vallance, Brent	NSW	1995, 1997
2	Swan, Kyle	VIC	2016, 2018
2	Sundstrom, Troy	NSW	1999, 2006
2	Summers, Harry	VIC	1981, 1985
$\frac{2}{2}$	Sheard, John	VIC	1979, 1981
2	Pearson, Shane	QLD	1997, 1999
2	Osborne, Jesse	QLD/VIC	2012, 2014
2	Murphy, Liam	SA	2002, 2004
2	Knox, Duncan	VIC	1981, 1983
2	Jones, Tyler	NSW	2014, 2016
2	Garganis, Adam	VIC	2016, 2018
2	Fullager, Peter	SA	1979, 1981 (see also GBR)
2	Erickson, Tim	VIC	1979, 1983
2	Coleman, Daniel	TAS	2006, 2008
2	Bertei, Frank	VIC	2002, 2004
1	Woods, Michael	NSW	1983
1	Tingay, Declan	WA	2018
1	Thomas, Mark	VIC	1995
1	Steele, Blake	SA	2012
1	Sockhill, Greg	QLD	1979
1	Smith, John	NSW	1979
	Simul, somi	110 11	1/1/

1	Perske, Benjamin	QLD	2004
1	McFadden, Rob	SA	1989
1	McCagh, Michael	WA	2004
1	Lowden, Kevin	VIC	1991
1	Keys, Brook	NSW	2006
1	Huxley, Rod	NSW	1979
1	Hosking, Michael	VIC	2018
1	Hausfield, Steve	NSW	1987
1	Fitzsimons, Sean	WA	2010
1	Fay, Ian	SA	1985
1	Dossetor, Mark	VIC	1989
1	Cooke, Rick	TAS	1991
1	Beecroft, Steven	VIC	1993
1	Barnes, Tom	VIC	2010
1	Baker, Mitchell	ACT	2018

Australian Reps in IAAF Race Walking World Team Championships: 1979-2018 - Women

Jane Saville and Kerry Junna-Saxby lead the way in the women's count, with 7 vests apiece, ahead of Lorraine Young and Sue Cook. The men's counts are generally higher as they can choose from 20km and 50km. The women have only had a single distance option up till 2018, so it was harder for them to make the teams year after year.

7	Saville, Jane	NSW	1993, 1997, 1999, 2002, 2004, 2006, 2008
7	Junna-Saxby, Kerry	NSW	1985, 1987, 1989, 1991, 1993, 1995, 1999
6	Young/Jachno, Lorraine	VIC	1979, 1981, 1985, 1987, 1989, 1991
6	Orr/Cook, Susan	VIC	1979, 1981, 1983, 1985, 1987,, 1991
5	Woods/Tallent, Claire	SA	2004, 2008, 2010, 2012, 2018
4	Tallent, Rachel	VIC	2010, 2012, 2016, 2018
4	Saville, Natalie	NSW	1997, 2004, 2006, 2008
4	Lamble, Regan	VIC	2008, 2010, 2012, 2016
3	Wolowiec, Simone	VIC	1997, 1999, 2004
3	Webb, Cheryl	NSW	2004, 2006, 2010
3	Pierson, Sally	VIC	1979, 1981, 1983
3	Muldoon, Wendy	VIC	1995, 1997, 1999
3	Holliday, Tanya	SA	2006, 2014, 2016
2	Smith, Clara	QLD	2014, 2016
2	Ryan, Ann	NSW	1981, 1983
2	Rothwell, Jess	VIC	2008, 2010
2	Montag, Jemima	VIC	2014, 2018
2	Manning, Anne	NSW	1993, 1995
2	Lee/Smith, Beki	NSW	2012, 2016
2	Grant, Lisa	NSW	2004, 2006
2	Fagan, Nicole	NSW	2008, 2012
2	Alldis, Fiona	NSW	2004, 2006
1	Wapshott, Kellie	VIC	2006
1	Thompson, Rachel	NSW	1983
1	Szirom, Megan	VIC	2008
1	Stigwood, Stephanie	TAS	2016
1	Sheridan-Paolini, Lisa	NSW	1999
1	Schnyder, Sharon	VIC	1991
1	Ruddick, Kelly	VIC	2014
1	Narbey, Sue	WA	1985
1	Miller, Sheila	VIC	1977
1	Maybir-Barrett, Jill	QLD	1997 (See also GBR)
1	Letherby, Teresa	QLD	1995
1	Knapton, Susan	NSW	2006
1	Jones-Billington, Jenny	QLD	1993 (See also NZL)
1	Iselin, Karen	QLD	1979
1	Huse, Philippa	VIC	2018
1	Hunt, Zoe	ACT	2016
1	Hosking, Elizabeth	ACT	2014
1	Henderson, Rebecca	VIC	2018
1	Heazlewood, Jessica	NSW	2004
1	Hayward, Katie	QLD	2018

1	Hayman, Beverley	NSW	1989
1	Goznik, Kristie	SA	2012
1	Camplin, Natalie	QLD	1991
1	Blythe, Gabrielle	VIC	1993
1	Billington, Tayla-Paige	QLD	2016
1	Barbour, Jane	SA	1995
1	Alexander, Beth	VIC	2010



Michael Harvey competes in the 1985 World Race Walking Cup 50km on the Isle of Man, one of 10 WWC representations

Overall, from a world perspective, Jesús Ángel García leads the men with 13 representations while Kristina Saltanovic leads the women with 12. Both competed in the 2018 World Team Championships so they may not be finished yet!

Read more at <u>http://www.vrwc.org.au/tim-archive/articles/Longevity%20and%20the%20IAAF%20Race%20Walking %20World%20Team%20Championships.pdf</u>.

MEN

13	Jesús Ángel García	ESP	1993-2018
12	Zoltán Czukor	HUN	1987-2012
	Harold van Beek	NED	1989-2012
11	Bo Gustafsson	SWE	1973-1997
	Augusto Cardoso	POR	1989-2012
	-		
WON	1EN		
12	Z i di G la si	TTTT	1005 2010
	Kristina Saltanovic	LTU	1995-2018
11	Susana Feitór	POR	1995-2018 1993-2014
11 10		210	

The next IAAF World Team Championships were due to be held in Minsk, Belarus, in May 2020 but have been postponed due to COVID-19 restrictions. The count continues....