THE EARLY DAYS - COBURG HARRIERS ARCHIVES

One of the earliest of the athletics clubs to be formed in Australia was the Coburg Harriers Club and history shows the early runs to be based on the cross-country concept of harriering.

In 1890, Melbourne Harriers and Melbourne University, the first of the Victorian clubs, were formed. Hawthorn Harriers, Wesley College and Melbourne Church of England Grammar School (Collegians) quickly followed in 1891. These clubs became the Victorian Amateur Athletic Association on the 8th October 1891, six years earlier than the formation of the Amateur Athletics Association of Australia (8th October 1987). The first Track and Field Championships were conducted on the East Melbourne Cricket Ground in 1892. Ballaarat (now Ballarat) Harriers also formed in 1891 with Malvern Harriers following in 1892.

At the Association's opening run in 1895, 15 clubs took their place:

Collegians Harriers Albert Park Harriers Ballaarat Hare and Hound Melbourne Harriers Kew Harriers Ballaarat Harriers Malvem Harriers Baroodara Harriers Melbourne Hare and Hounds Hawthorn Harriers East Melbourne Harriers St Lukes Harriers Medical School Harriers Ballaarat East Harriers Prahran Harriers

The **Walkers Club**, Clifton and Northcote Harriers and Bendigo Harriers also formed in 1895 while Coburg Harriers, on 30th March 1896, just pipped Carlton Harriers with a formation date of 13th May 1896. It is interesting to note how many of these clubs still exist either in their own right or as part of amalgamations.

Coburg now ranks as the 5th oldest of the continuous Victorian clubs.

To this day the Coburg Harriers Club maintains the traditions and aims laid down at the time the Club was founded. Nowhere has this been better expressed than by the Club motto

NOT THE QUARRY BUT THE CHASE, NOT THE TROPINY BUT THE RACE